10 yapping dogs

welcome to the neighborhood!

13 March 2013

Today I got advice from a paralegal (thanks, RC) and a lawyer (he was awesome).

The end result is that while I could definitely pursue legal action, it will likely cost me more than I’d ever get back – especially since I’ve no financial losses as a result of our neighbor’s letter.

It wouldn’t be hard to defend my character given the involvement I’ve had with several rescues in this area, my own rescue dogs and foster, and overall effort on the behalf of dogs/animals in general.  But it does, in the end, come down to she said/she said without proof – on either of our side.

With the lawyer’s conversation in mind, I will continue searching for a civil remedy.  I will continue to video tape her dogs barking as ongoing proof (of nuisance), I will contact the police regularly when the dogs continually bark, I will submit a complaint to our Property Owner’s Association (which has a clause about nuisance animals) and Code Enforcement (in due time).

If another letter surfaces in the same vein as this one, I will file for an “injunction relief” which is basically a civil restraining order for her to knock it off or further action will be taken.  That’s, of course, when it will start to get expensive.

I also intend to have a discussion with my vet’s office to inform them that she is naming them – in writing – in a manner that implicates them as having said things they may not have.  And when they find out they’ve just lost income for the welfare of my two dogs as a result.. who knows, maybe they’ll take action of their own.

I may even write a letter to the neighbor letting her know that I’m aware of the letter – since it’s apparently “been released into the wild” I am allowed to do that… and this:

The Email

The Email

March 13, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

